You miss out on the things God wants you to hear and do because you allow yourself to. 

I quote entrepreneur, preacher and life coach Chinkee Tan in his book, “Chink+” with this line: “Decision is the starting line, Discipline is the guiding line and Determination is the finish line.”
This article is made up of a lot of D’s that we’re fighting for and it could be decisions whether good or bad that we’ve made that is affecting our lifestyle.

As an event planner, it’s so easy to plan what, when and where, it’s so convenient nowadays to write down the perfect plan, but it’s downright difficult to get things going once you’ve launched it. Want to know why? Because our own stubborn and selfish freewill gets in the way. Don’t get me wrong. Freewill is something God has given us to take care of, to be a steward of.
He said in Genesis 1:26: “Then God said, ‘Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.'”

Basing on what I see at present, we’ve destroyed half of what the Lord has blessed us with and did the opposite of what He said in verse 28: “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it, and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

We were suppose to grow and multiply what God has freely given to us, yet in our selfishness and pride, we forgot how all of these things we think we own; we think is “OUR” life meant so much to God. 

Our work, our family, friends, even enemies and adversaries, the food on our table, the home we sleep in, everything we have right now, is all because of God’s goodness towards us. 

Most of the time, I get distracted with other things I wish I had and idealisms of what seemed perfect to my flesh. All of it was vanity. 

“I the Preacher have been king over Israel in Jerusalem. And I applied my heart to seek and to search out by wisdom all that is done under heaven. It is an unhappy business that God has given to the children of man to be busy with. I have seen everything that is done under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and a striving after wind.” Ecclesiastes 1:2-14

I lack discipline, the desire to keep going despite pain. I dispose my faith too easily by filling it with doubt. Anyone else feeling this?

“For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11

Nevertheless, God has promised that through His Holy Spirit, our weaknesses will be replaced by His glorious power. 

It is not by our own will that we will be able to endure all kinds of suffering, but by the power of Christ that rests in us. 

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

The demands of being a True Christian can go on and on, but if we know that our strength comes from the Lord and we have devoted our lives to serve Him, we will never fail in living out His purpose. 

Let Jesus Reign Forevermore In Your Life!

Leave a Reply

